Opportunities Down Under.

by Fred T. Davies Jr.

Mycorrhiza means "fungus roots" and is a symbiotic association between specific fungi and the fine, young roots of higher plants. The majority of plants -- strictly speaking -- do not have roots; rather, they form mycorrhizae. There are seven different types of fungus roots. The two most important are the endomycorrhiza and ectomycorrhiza. Endomycorrhizal plants are typically herbaceous plants; shrubs; many ornamental, fruit and nut trees; vegetable and agronomic crops; and turfgrasses. More than 85 percent of higher plants form endomycorrhizal associations. The ectomycorrhizae create associations with conifers, pines and hardwoods such as birch, beech, eucalyptus, fir, oak, willow, and magnolia. Ectomycorrhizae colonize around 10 percent of higher plants. Some plants as eucalyptus will form both endo- and ectomycorrhizal associations.

American Nurseryman, Feb. 15, pp. 32-40, 2002.